Divorce Cost in Tennessee

divorce n Tennessee

The average divorce cost in Tennessee will set you back roughly $10,000 in legal fees and another $3,000 in out-of-pocket costs. This is a little higher than the average for the country. Alimony could be a good option for either spouse.

You might be wondering why divorce costs are so unpredictable at this point. Keep reading to learn the costs you might or might not incur throughout your divorce.

How Much Does a Divorce Cost in Tennessee?

Just as every marriage is unique, so are the divorce expenses for each one. 

In the end, the sum of your divorce costs will depend on several unique aspects that we are unable to foresee without knowing the details of your situation. 

Having said that, we can provide you with a few objective facts:

1. The Filing Fee

The minimum amount you must pay to dissolve your marriage officially is between $200 and $400. 

And in really uncommon cases, it can be the only action you need to take. But most likely not. So, try not to become too elated. 

Divorce complaints have different filing fees depending on the county you reside in.

2. Attorney’s Fees

Almost all lawyers practice family law on an hourly basis.

This rate changes depending on where you live, much like filing fees. For instance, a city attorney will charge more than a rural one due to the high cost of living. 

Another important component will be experience and aptitude.

However, a recent statewide poll found that Tennessee’s minimum and maximum average hourly rates were $230 and $280, respectively. 

Although it’s impossible to say with certainty how long each divorce will last, it’s typical in Tennessee for people to spend roughly $10,000 on their lawyer.

Although it varies between businesses, this sum normally ranges from $2,000 to $5,000.

Retainer funds are utilized to cover various expenses related to winning your case in addition to your lawyer’s hourly fee. 

Since your first down payment generally won’t last the duration of your case, you’ll need to regularly replenish the money and obtain itemized reports on its use. 

These funds will be refunded to you if there is any money left over at the end.

3. Additional Fees

You could also need to factor in the cost of additional outside professionals in your calculations, depending on the demands of your case. 

Child psychologists, financial counselors, and real estate appraisers are some examples. 

As part of their parenting plan, divorcing parents in Tennessee are obliged to attend a co-parenting seminar. 

Once again, the price will vary depending on your jurisdiction, but these seminars give them the knowledge and resources they need to assist their children in making the transition after divorce. 

  1. Unbridgeable differences
  1. If your spouse:
  • was incapable of getting pregnant or impotent at the time of the marriage.
  • wedded you while still being wed to another person
  • sexually immoral (cheated on you)
  • abandoned you, was absent for a year without a good reason, and was found guilty of a “famous crime.”
  • Attempted to poison or murder you, was found guilty of a felony, and received a prison or jail sentence.
  • Declined to follow you to Tennessee without a valid justification 
  • Didn’t live with you for two years when you were residing there without a valid explanation.
  • was carrying another person’s child when you were married, and you weren’t aware of it

Is Alimony an Option?

Alimony is the financial support provided by or to your spouse, sometimes known as maintenance or spousal support. Depending on the judge’s decision, you’ll either receive alimony or not. 

The judge will work to ensure that your quality of life is the same after your marriage as it was during it. 

If possible, you will suffer financially because you relied on your spouse for assistance and were a housewife or parent throughout your marriage.

What Kinds of Alimony are offered?

In Tennessee, alimony can be paid in one of four ways:

Recovery-Oriented Alimony

The judge may grant you rehabilitative alimony to assist you in achieving the same standard of living that you had throughout your marriage. 

If you or your spouse die, rehabilitative alimony will be terminated.

Regular Alimony

If there is a significant wage gap between you and your husband and you are unable to maintain the same standard of living as you had during the marriage, the judge may grant you long-term periodic alimony. 

Periodic alimony terminates when the judge specifies if you get remarried or if you pass away.

Temporary alimony

To assist you in adjusting to your divorce or separation, transitional alimony is granted for a predetermined amount of time. 

Changes to transitional alimony are not permitted unless:

  • You and your partner consent to a modification of the initial court order.
  • The judge rules that the alimony award in the initial court judgment can be altered if you live with a different person.

Alimony Paid in Full

To assist in providing you with financial support, lump sum alimony, often referred to as alimony in solido, is awarded for a lengthy, definite period. 

However, it may be paid completely at once (in a “lump sum”) or divided into payments that are made over time in installments. 

This type of alimony is meant to sustain one spouse financially, allow the court to split and distribute the marital estate fairly (equitably), or both. 

Online Divorce in Tennessee

The uncontested divorce process can be prepared for, and the required papers can be obtained quickly via TennesseeOnlineDivorce.

The advantages of using an online divorce service 

  • Simple internet access from any device with internet access (smartphone, tablet, or PC)
  • Your papers can be worked on whenever you like, in the comfort of your own home.
  • How rapidly you advance in your progress is entirely up to you. 
  • You can take your time filling out the online form that is intended to gather the required information.
  • All the paperwork is available for download within two business days after the interview questions are finished.

The disadvantages of online divorce service

  • It is challenging.
  • You might make regrettable choices.
  • Municipal and state regulations differ.
  • The advantages do not always outweigh the disadvantages.
  • Even after registration online, you might still need to appear in the courtroom.

Filing for divorce in Tennessee

There are two sorts of divorce in general: contentious and uncontested.

 The divorce is deemed uncontested when both partners agree on all aspects of the divorce, including the property split, child custody arrangements, and alimony (spousal support). 

Contrarily, in a contentious divorce, the parties must seek the court’s help to resolve all of their concerns after they have reached an agreement on at least one point.

Because there is no arguing in court, uncontested divorces typically end quicker and cost less than contentious divorces.

 Instead, the judge simply needs to evaluate, sanction, and issue a divorce decree after having approved the parties’ marital settlement agreement.

You must file divorce papers with the county clerk, where you will file your divorce in Tennessee to obtain a divorce.

Uncontested Divorce in Tennessee

Couples can obtain an “uncontested divorce.” According to this, divorce exists overall as an irreparable problem among couples, but “zero” blame can be placed on any one partner in particular.

Although the relationship is ending due to infidelity, violence, neglect, abandonment, or other significant problems, you can choose to apply for an uncontested divorce regardless of who is at fault. 

Contested Divorce in Tennessee

Your lawyer can develop a plan to call those who witnessed the crime and obtain evidence to show your partner’s crime if you feel strongly that you must establish their guilt. This approach will be more expensive and last a lot longer.

Regardless of whether you have any serious problems, you ought to file for a disputed divorce in situations where your partner does not want to end the marriage. To say that someone “contests” or rejects the divorce is to say that it is disputed.

You will ultimately get divorced, even if it takes some time and money to have a contentious divorce. A spouse cannot halt a contested divorce simply because they disagree with it.

Tennessee’s Divorce Waiting Period

Regardless of whether your divorce is uncontested, disputed, or agreed upon, the court cannot start handling your case until a certain amount of time has passed since filing your divorce petition.

The court must hold off on hearing your case for 60 days after your petition is filed if you and your spouse don’t have any unmarried minor children. 

The court must wait 90 days after your petition is filed before hearing your case if you and your spouse have one or more unmarried children under the age of 18.

Summary:

In Tennessee, the cost of a divorce typically includes $10,000 in legal fees and an extra $3,000 in out-of-pocket expenses.

Read also:

How Long Do You Have To Pay Alimony? What Can Terminate Alimony?

HOW MUCH DOES DIVORCE COST IN TEXAS

How Much Do Divorce Lawyers Make? Salary, Outlook, & All You Need

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

14 − fourteen =